Inca Civilization

The Inca civilization was the largest Pre-Columbian civilization in the Americas and Cusco was its capital. The best kept example of its architecture is Machu Picchu.

Machu Picchu

The Sacred City is one of the most significant archeological sites left by the Incas


Fascinating culture and Inca heritage of this beautiful country

Lake Titicaca

Lake Titicaca is the highest navigable lake in the world. It occupies an important place in Inca mythology.

Animals of Peru

Animals in Peru have specialized and adapted to the conditions of its geography. At higher altitude levels, few animals and plants can survive because of the lack of oxygen.

Home » History

Peru History Timeline

Submitted by |

Chronological events in the history of Peru.


7500 – First identifiable villages built in Peru. Nomads became sedentary as they discover agriculture.

ca 1200  –  Chavin, the first culture developed in Peru. The people of Chavin built one of Peru’s earlier temples in Chavin de Huantar.

ca 200  – The Nazca culture thrived in the Nazca Valley.  Nazca are best known for its lines and drawings of animals, know as the Nazca Lines, which cover a large area of the desert outside the towns of Nazca and Palpa.

ca 100  – The Moche culture flourished in the north of Peru in the present department of La Libertad. The Moche produced a great amount of pottery.



ca 50 – The powerful Moche ruler, Lord of Sipan was buried in a tomb that was to become one of Peru’s most famous archeological sites.

ca 500 – The Tiwanaku culture rules the highlands in the Lake Titicaca region. The Lambayeque culture rules in the north coast, they were great goldsmiths, the Tumi or ceremonial knife is the symbol of Peru and one of their creations.

ca 1000 – The Chimu became the largest empire that ruled the coast of Peru. They built the city of Chan Chan. They were absorbed by the Incas.

ca 1200The Incas absorbed small tribes in the Cuzco area under the leadership of Manco Capac,the first Sapa Inca.



1438 – Pachacutec, the ninth Inca, began the territorial expansion. Cusco became the center of the Inca Empire.

1460 –  Pachacutec built Machu Picchu in the Urubamba Valley.

1463 – Topa Inca, son of Pachacutec, continues the expansion of the empire to the east, reaching the Bolivian altiplano.

1470 – Huayna Capac, son of Topa Inca, and his sons Huascar and Atahualpa expanded empire to Quito in the north and to Chile and part of Argentina in the south.



1527 – Huayna Capac died of smallpox. Civil war begins between Huascar and Atahualpa which caused the fall of the Inca Empire.

1532 – Huascar was assassinated by Atahualpa’s forces. Arrival of Spanish forces led by Francisco Pizarro, began the conquest of Peru.

1533 – Atahualpa was charged of treason and executed by the Spaniards.

1534 – Spanish invaded Cusco.

1536 – Manco Inca and his army rebelled and took refuge in Vilcabamba where they created an Inca government. Manco Inca was assassinated and replaced by successive Spanish elected Sapa Incas.

1541 – Civil war between Spanish conquistadors leads to the killing of Francisco Pizarro.

1543Lima becomes the capital of the first colonial government, the Viceroyalty of Peru, which initially included Colombia, Ecuador, Bolivia, Chile and part of Argentina.

1551 – San Marcos, the first university of the Americas was founded in Lima.

1572 – Tupac Amaru I, the last Inca royal, was captured and executed by orders of Viceroy Toledo.



Colonization,  assimilation and Cristianization of the Indian population.



1780 – Tupac Amaru II claimed to be the last Inca royal heir, led a rebellion which ended in his execution.



1810 – War of independence that lasted until 1824.

1821 – General Jose de San Martin declared Peruvian Independence.

1824 – Peru won the battle of Ayacucho sealing its independence from Spain.

1836 –  Peru and Bolivia formed a confederation which lasted less than three years.

1845 – Ramon Castilla was the first president elected by direct elections. Previous presidents were elected by indirect elections, coup d’état or by congress.

1856 – President Ramon Castilla abolished slavery.

1879 –  Peru entered the War of the Pacific with Chile and Bolivia and lasted until 1884.



1911 – American explorer Hiram Bingham rediscovered Machu Picchu.

1924 – Victor Raul Haya de la Torre founded APRA.

1928- Jose Mariategui founded the Peruvian Communist Party.

1948 – A coup put General Manuel Odria and the military into power.

1963 – First government of Fernando Belaunde Terry.

1968 – Coup d’état by Juan Velasco Alvarado. Large scale nationalizations of key industries.

1975 – Coup d’état by Morales Bermudez.

1980 – Second government of Fernando Belaunde Terry.

1980 – Sendero Luminoso, a guerrilla group, began an armed struggle against the Peruvian government.

1983El Niño caused extensive flooding in the north of the country and drought in the interior. Large damage to the economy.

1985 – First government of Alan Garcia, an APRA candidate.

1990 – First government of Alberto Fujimori. Restored market based economy and decreased inflation from 400% to almost 0%.

1992 – Abimael Gusman, Shining Path guerrilla leader, was captured and sentenced to life in prison.

1995 – Second government of Alberto Fujimori.



2000 – Fujimori resigned following political scandals and flees the country.

2001 – Alejandro Toledo became the Amerindian president of Peru.

2005 – Fujimori was arrested in Chile and extradited to Peru facing charges of treason.

2005 – Free trade agreement with US.

2006 – Second government of Alan Garcia.

2011 – Ollanta Humala elected president in a run-off against Keiko Fujimori, daughter of Alberto Fujjimori.

2013 – President Ollanta Humala rejects a request to pardon the jailed former leader Alberto Fujimori on humanitarian grounds.

2016 – Keiko Fujimori lost second round against World Bank economist Pedro Kuczynski. Pedro Pablo Kuczynski becomes president.


See also:

Chile History Timeline


Back to History of Peru page

Back to Discover Peru Homepage


Tags: , , ,